Student Lounge The Honest Truth About Dishonesty: How We Lie to Everyone – Especially Ourselves – Dan Ariely

The Honest Truth About Dishonesty: How We Lie to Everyone – Especially Ourselves – Dan Ariely

  • This topic has 2 replies, 2 voices, and was last updated Mar-17 by christine.
  • Author
    Posts
    • christine
      Participant
      Up
      0
      Down
      Recommended by @christine

      Dan Ariely, behavioral economist and the New York Times bestselling author of The Upside of Irrationality and Predictably Irrational, examines the contradictory forces that drive us to cheat and keep us honest, in this groundbreaking look at the way we behave: The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty.

      From ticket-fixing in our police departments to test-score scandals in our schools, from our elected leaders’ extra-marital affairs to the Ponzi schemes undermining our economy, cheating and dishonesty are ubiquitous parts of our national news cycle—and inescapable parts of the human condition.

      Drawing on original experiments and research, in the vein of Freakonomics, The Tipping Point, and Survival of the Sickest, Ariely reveals—honestly—what motivates these irrational, but entirely human, behaviors.

    • Sarah
      Participant
      Up
      3
      Down

      I was sure this book was recommended and now it appears!
      I got this on my kindle the other day – I might squeeze it in between studying.
      Is it an easy read @christine?

    • christine
      Participant
      Up
      0
      Down

      @diya I’m pushing out the book recommendations slowly over the next few days 🙂

      It’s quite an interesting read, in the same vein as Freakonomics but for behavioural economics. I’ve seen Dan speak live before and he’s very engaging.

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.